2018 Australian Women in Wine Award Winners

Largest ever gathering of Australian women in wine

Media release
Subscribe to VisitVineyards.com
Australian Women In Wine Awards

Australian Women In Wine Awards [©The Fabulous Ladies' Wine Society]

Australian Women in Wine Awards 2018 Winners


The winners of the 2018 Australian Women in Wine Awards were announced in Sydney on Friday 16 November 2018 at the largest ever gathering of Australian women in wine.

The awards ceremony this year took place as part of the first ever Australian Women in Wine Symposium and Awards Day, which was held on Sydney Harbour at Quay with over 100 attendees. The morning session preceding the awards, comprised of guest speakers and networking opportunities, followed by a convivial three course lunch with wines supplied by Henschke, Bremerton, Calabria Family Wines, Soumah and the Yarra Valley Wine Women (made up of Goodman Wines, Sutherland Estate, Helen & Joey, Yarra Yering, TarraWarra, Bird on a Wire, Yerinberg & Wantirna Estate) and Champagne from Ayala.

The awards ceremony was streamed live via the Australian Women in Wine Facebook page to viewers across Australia and around the world. Key figures from the wine industry, including Jancis Robinson and Joe Fattorini, even participated in the day from abroad by sending in video messages of greeting and support.

From Sydney… to NEW YORK!  The AWIWA also announced that, in partnership with Wine Australia, the 2019 Awards will be held in New York on Tuesday 17th September as part of Aussie Wine Month, which is set to be the largest Australian wine promotion ever held in the USA. Further information about this will follow in coming weeks.

Winners of the 2018 Australian Women in Wine Awards were:

Winemaker of the Year – sponsored by Tonnellerie Saint Martin
Kate Goodman, Goodman Wines / Penley Estate

Viticulturist of the Year – sponsored by Wine Australia
Nicole Pitman, Kingston Estate

Owner / Operator of the Year – sponsored by WineWorks Australia
Sarah Marquis, Mollydooker Wines

Workplace Champion of Change - sponsored by Winemakers’ Federation of Australia
Lara Simic, Winestate Publishing

Cellar Door Person of the Year – sponsored by Platinum Bags
Janine Carter, Voyager Estate

Researcher / Innovator of the Year – sponsored by Angove Family Winemakers
Dr. Jacqui McRae, Australian Wine Research Institute

Marketer of the Year – sponsored by denomination
Lynda Schenk – Purple Giraffe

Woman of Inspiration – sponsored by Irvine Wines
Tamara Grischy, Langtons


Sponsors: the Australian Women in Wine Awards would not be possible without the support of our individual award sponsors (as above) and partners – especially our Gold Partners: Pernod-Ricard Winemakers, Vintrace, Cru and Wine Business Magazine.

About the Australian Women in Wine Awards (AWIWA)

The Australian Women in Wine Awards – which are owned and operated by The Fabulous Ladies’ Wine Society – work to celebrate and reward the work of women in the Australian wine community, and community leaders who champion equality and fairness for all sexes in the workplace. The AWIWA, set up in 2015, are the world’s only awards program for women in wine. Previous winners include Prue Henschke (Viticulturist of the Year, 2016), Virginia Willcock, Vasse Felix (Winemaker of the Year, 2017) and Iain Riggs, Brokenwood (Workplace Champion of Change, 2016).

Our Recommendations

To see our recommendations, ratings and reviews you must be a logged-in subscriber.

To subscribe please enter your email address in the "Subscribe Now - it's Free" box on the right and click the "Join" button, or fill in this form >

November 20th, 2018
Subscribe today - it's free
Subscribe Button

Subscribe now - for news and reviews, our newsletter (optional), to join our forums, and more.

Enter your email address and click the Subscribe button. We respect your privacy.

Log in

Enter your username...

Enter your password...

Log In Button

Forgotten your password?


Kerry's corner - your free benefits